#FollowTheEntrepreneur: Dale Kopping

dk-logo-yellow-white-black-watermark-transparent

Dale Kopping is the Founder / Editor / All Rounder of DK Expressions™ – an online Social Media and PR company.

1. What inspired you to start a business?

​Well, it’s kind of funny because I was a freelance celebrity photographer for an online publication for 8yrs and in 2013 they turned around and said they no longer require my services. So I called up my contact at Big Concerts and told her my situation, to which she replied that the only way I could be accredited to cover the events was to either join a media, house like Media 24, or start my own blog. So of course joining a media house would have taken forever or not happened at all, so I started http://www.dkexpressions.wordpress.com end of January​ ​which was a blog all about what I heard and what I saw from all the events I attended . By March, I was receiving requests from SA’s PR companies to please promote their events. It was at that stage that I realized that having a wordpress.com was not professional enough, so I registered my domain as well as had my logo trademarked.

2. How did you get your idea/concept for the business?

​I found a gap in the market because no one was cross marketing on all social networks. They only maybe posted their blog posts/listings onto FB or Twitter and charged clients a lot of money. I offer my clients a simple cost effective way to advertise your event, product, service etc. not only on my blog but also across every social network that we currently have a profile on. So for example if I publish an event on my blog, it gets automatically shared onto Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Tumblr, Pinterest, Blogger, StumbleUpon, Reddit, Digg, Delicious, to name but a few. My clients also have the option of only being promoted on their networks of choice and not across the board. I also then offer my clients Bespoke Promotions / Campaigns suited to their budget size. But the most popular is my RTEPS (Real Time Event Photography Service), which is when my team and I attend your event / function and we upload professional Expressions (images) to our clients social pages which creates FOMO for anyone and everyone that did not attend.​

3. To what do you attribute your success?

Hard work and dedication. Also the willingness to do whatever it takes to succeed​

4. What is unique about your business?

​Our Expressions far exceed Expectations​

5. Name your favorite business book/s and why?
​Do I have to? LOL, the one and only book that has stuck with me ever since I read it in 2002 has to be Dale Carniege – How to Win friends and Influence people. To be honest, I am not a big book reader. I guess it is because I’m always busy doing something and I only tend to read when I am on holiday​

6. If you had one piece of advice to an entrepreneur just starting out, what
would it be?

​Never give up. Follow your dreams. You will hit bumps on the way, but those bumps will only help in the future and most importantly ALWAYS BELIEVE IN YOURSELF​

7. What are your future plans?

​I have a fantastic Idea for a social reward programme or loyalty points system that anyone with a cell phone can use, share and be rewarded. Linking retail, entertainment, food and banking altogether​. I just need to find an investor because I currently have no capital.

Follow Dale on Twitter
Visit the website
Like them on Facebook

Leave a Reply

