#FollowTheEntrepreneur: Chris McDonald

Chris McDonald empowers small business owners through the haze on Social Media and is the author of the book “Post-able Images for Social Media

1. What made you decide to become a Social Media Manager?

I decided to become a Social Media Manager because there are so many small businesses that are trying to get started and just running that business is a full-time job in and of itself. Trying to add Social Media to the mix sounds downright confusing let alone frustrating. Many find that keeping up with the changes in Social Media is a job all by itself. When I was in an MLM and added Social Media to the mix, I felt like I was in a fog, not only of an overload of how to do it, but how to fit it into my life, business and schedule. I do not want anyone to feel that way.

2. How important is it for a business to be on Social Media?

Social Media is the way that businesses operate today. With the increase in the number of people shopping online, building that online presence is vital. Very few people will buy because they landed on your website, at least not on the first visit. They key is to get people to know, like and trust you. You want to provide answers to those folks and know their pain points. Next you want to provide material that answers those questions. THEN when they really are ready to purchase, you are the natural choice as you have already been their expert and it is logical for them to purchase from you.

3. How does a smaller business benefit from e.g Twitter as opposed to
a bigger business that has been around for a while and probably has a
loyal following already?

A smaller business will benefit by being unique and reaching that target audience that is for them. By narrowing down who your ideal customer is, and reaching out to those people all the while providing value and being authentic, your customer base will grow. Big businesses may have a large following, but that does not even mean that those who follow them are happy there. What a smaller business offers may be more suited to that particular “fan” base.

4. What is the first thing you normally say to a business that is not
currently using social media, to encourage them to start using social
media platforms?

We have to market in the year that we are in. Television commercials are effective, but they have to be great to catch the attention of a customer. How many people have a DVR or TiVo? Ask a room full of people and you will find that over 90% have it and the main feature they want it for is to fast forward through those commercials. So what really is the effectiveness of those commercials? Look at Billboards. The driver of the car may notice them, but the passengers are most likely on their phones, checking email and updates on Social Media. Another example is the newspaper. Advertising there used to be enormous. A full page spread was the ultimate in advertising. Most newspapers today are struggling because of a lack of subscribers and the shift is to get the news online. Remember how we all used to sit and watch the “evening news”? Now we spend that time cruising the net.

5. What motivates you?

I am motivated by doing good work. I like to know that what I am providing to people is what they want and that what I offer is exactly what they need. I offer free classes in Facebook, Twitter, Blogging, SnapChat, and now starting on email marketing using mailchimp for free. My goal is to provide value for those starting in Social Media and for those who want to add another platform to their mix. I am encouraged when someone expresses their appreciation.

6. Who is your role model?

I am a Christian and I am not ashamed of that fact in my business. I have high morals and am selective who I even follow on a social media site. The person on this earth that would be my role model is Kim Garst from Boom Social.

7. What are some of your future plans?

I will continue to add free social media training to my website and will soon be starting my second book. The first book was Social Media images that you can use, having over 400 images that can be used license and copyright free on your social media sites. I offer a sample of that on my site for free (40 images included). The second book will be about my cancer journey with lymphoma, and although I have a few chapters written, I have a long way to go.

Follow Chris on Twitter
Like her Facebook Page
Visit her website

Leave a Reply

