#FollowTheEntrepreneur: Walter Pike

Walter Pike is the founder of PiKE, a virtual organisation consisting of leading and international experts in Marketing, PR, Advertising, Research, Data analytics, Sociology and Digital marketing.

1. Why did you decide to start your business?

I started because I felt constrained by other people’s agendas when I was in corporate employment. I wanted to be able to do the things that I felt are right. This was many years ago now and the path has been both torturous and fulfilling.

2. What impact has running a business had on you and the community in which you operate?

My business, which is involved with marketing and advertising and teaching, has been integrated with the greater community. I have used these skills in schools and in running social change agendas such as for the anti -rape. Because part of the business is education I am constantly sharing my thinking in classrooms on the media and in writing.

3. Would you say that your business is a success?

I think that my business has been both successful and a failure. Because I operate on the leading edge of thinking, I am often too early. It has been successful because I believe it has made a difference to the people around me. I don’t own an aeroplane.

4. What do you think are the top 5 most important qualities every entrepreneur should have?

An entrepreneur needs not to be afraid of failure, he/she needs to be able to try things and if they don’t succeed try something else but never be incapacitated by the fear that what he/she tries will not work. They need to be able to stick with the program but know when to cut their losses and move on as well. I think that the willingness to try and not be afraid is everything.

5. Who is your role model?

I don’t have a role model. I gather different things from different people but if I had to identify one person who has influenced me more than others it would be Seth Godin- an American author and marketer.

6. Do you think it is important for entrepreneurs to have a mentor?

I think it would be good for entrepreneurs to have a mentor. I don’t think it is essential.

7. What advice do you have for aspiring entrepreneurs out there?

As a philosopher, I really love the thinking of “stay hungry, stay foolish”. I take it to mean that you need to always be looking to do things, try things and that you should be brave enough to venture into spaces where you may fail.

Follow Walter on Twitter
Find him on LinkedIn
PiKE

Leave a Reply

