#FollowTheEntrepreneur: Joshua Gxekwa

Joshua Gxekwa is a Photographer and Founder at Stance Photography PE and a Freelance Photographer at Speed and Sound magazine.

1. Why did you decide to start your business?

I started my business for various reasons which are:
A) I was inspired by many people throughout my life from Religious, Political and business leaders.

B) I wanted to create opportunities for the unemployed youth, to give them a chance. I for one have been given many chances and I am grateful for that.

C) I am passionate about my work and I love it. My saying is “Find what you are passionate about and turn it into a career or business”

2. What impact has running a business had on you and the community in which you operate?

A) It has had a huge impact on me. My lifestyle has changed. It is no longer about me, now it is about the business because the business comes first.

B) On the community, it has had a positive impact because I have absorbed some young people to join me. By doing that I am actually making the community a better place through my business, because at the moment there are so many things that the youth is involved in that are not going to build them. I always say rather focus all your energy on something that is going to build you as a person, something that is going to make you a better person.

3. Would you say that your business is a success?

From my point of view my business has been doing well and it is still going strong, better things are yet to come with God on my side anything is possible.

4. What do you think are the top 5 most important qualities every entrepreneur should have?

A) They have to be Passionate
B) They have to be Accountable
C) They have to be Hands-on
D) They have to be Goal orientated
E) They must have Respect and be humble

5. Who is your role model?

My Role model is: Strive Masiyiwa- he is a London based Zimbabwean businessman, entrepreneur, and philanthropist. He is the founder and executive chairman of Diversified International Telecommunications Group. Strive is Zimbabwe’s richest man.

6. Do you think it is important for entrepreneurs to have a mentor?

Yes it is important to have a mentor for the following reasons:
A) They are able to transfer the knowledge and experience the have in business to young entrepreneurs;

B) It is also important to have multiple mentors to get different experiences, there are no limits you need to learn “You live and you learn”- Jay

7. What advice do you have for aspiring entrepreneurs out there?

A) It is important to understand the business you are going into. Don’t just wake up and say, “so and so, made money, so I will also try this.” It must be something you fully understand better than anyone else

B) If the project falls over, don’t behave as though the sky just fell on you. Laugh it off and learn from your mistakes.

C) Don’t wait for funding to start a business. Start small, start with the little that you have #Littlethings

Follow Joshua on Twitter
Find him on Facebook
Stance Photography PE

Leave a Reply

